Heal Through Poetry Doc-Series — Episode 1: Anxiety

+ Metaphor & Renewal series starts October 30th

Hello,

The Fall term of my Metaphor & Renewal poetry writing series is starting October 30th. If the word ‘metaphor’ scares you, this series offers a beautiful opportunity to wander for metaphors, and to find delight in your own imagination. I explain what I mean by that here. Before I share more info on that series, I’d like to first tell you about a project that I’ve been working on quietly for the last year and a half…

When I said yes to working with Garima Soni on her 'Healing Through Poetry' series, I brought with that 'yes' an intention to allow myself to be truly seen in my struggles with anxiety -- but I didn't only want my pain witnessed, I wanted my sense of poise to be captured as well.

️Here's how this project started (briefly):

Back in March 2022, Garima posted an ad, looking poets in the Vancouver community who had written about their experience with mental health and who'd be willing to share their story. She had no budget and very little experience. But when we connected for a call, I liked her immediately.

We spent an afternoon filming my episode... it was just the two of us. Garima spent the next several months cutting together the material. That summer, she applied for a grant through STORYHIVE's Voices 2.0 program, using this episode as a demo. She wanted funding to create an 8 episode docu-series featuring 8 different local poets.

She got the grant.

On Sept 5th 2023, I joined Garima at The Cinematheque in Vancouver to screen the first 4 episodes of the series (here’s some photos from the day). I got to facilitate the panel discussion between Garima and Gloria Eid (one of the other featured poets) following the screening, and it was such a dream.

All 8 episodes can now be watched on Telus Optic TV or on Youtube!

It is with great excitement (and fear… this episode is very vulnerable) that I present episode 1 of the series featuring a performance of my poem 'She' and my reflections on living with and creating through anxiety.

**I also highly recommend you check out the full series. There are episodes on grief, imposter syndrome, moving through childhood trauma, caregiving, and more.

Metaphor & Renewal
6-Week Poetry Workshop Writing Workshop

“Metaphors are essential to our understanding of our world, and can be used as a mechanism for creating new meaning in our lives… ” — George Lakoff and Mark Johnson, ‘Metaphors We Live By’

Metaphors are everywhere. We may speak about time getting lost, stolen, saved (‘time is a limited resource’). In our lives, we may tell our friends that we’re going through a rocky patch, feeling a little lost, unsure of the right path (‘life is a journey’).

Metaphors teach us how to move through our lives and engage with difficult emotions. Without them, we might feel a little disoriented. But if the ‘metaphors you live by’ aren’t working for you… your creativity can get involved. That’s what this series is all about.

Practice writing new imaginative metaphors for life, longing, fear, time, and confidence… and then turn your reflections into poetry.

DETAILS
Mondays, October 30th – December 4th 2023
from 1-3pm PST

Every week, I host a series of Develop a Writing Ritual classes, where participants join me to work on a creative project of their choice. Some folks are working on a novel, others use the space to lean into their journalling practice, others challenge themselves to write a new poem every week.

We start each session with a freewriting prompt, inspired by a lit magazine.

This week’s was inspired by Fahmidan Journal and their invitation to “captivate and intrigue us with your hopes and dreams.”

I’d love to share the prompts with you:

  1. What do you want to be (or to become) true within your “one wild and precious life”? (quote from Mary Oliver’s poem ‘The Summer Day’)

  2. If it were true, what then? / Describe your hope/dream as it takes shape.
    (You may also play with the reverse of this question: If it were not true, what then? Describe your hope/dream as it does not take shape.

To engage with these prompts, you may set a timer for 3 minutes per question. Just start writing. Allow yourself to be surprised by where you go.

Want to explore these prompts with a small group? Join us today at 1:30pm PST. First class is free. More info can be found here.

Questions? Email [email protected]

thank you for your support,
Christine Bissonnette

P.S — Know someone who would enjoy receiving this email? Pass it along!