Develop a Writing Ritual: Free Summer Classes

Plus announcing Fall classes

Hello,

I have some news that I’ve been keeping secret. Over the summer, I enrolled in two psychology courses — Group Process (the psychology of facilitating groups) and Developmental Psychology — as prerequisites for a certification I’ll be starting in the fall to become an applied poetry facilitator! What? Why? Well, I’m fascinated by the use of creative writing as a tool for reflection and healing, and turns out there is a pedagogy on how to do this that is well-researched and backed by a community of practitioners. I want to strengthen the roots of my teaching practice, and so I’ve taken this step.

I’ve been quiet for a lot of the summer because these pre req courses were demanding (and also fascinating)! I’m in the home stretch now and am excited for the fall term at the studio.

In the subject line of this email, I mentioned the Summer Term of my Develop a Writing Ritual series is FREE. Learn more by scrolling down.

Develop a Writing Ritual: Summer Term is FREE!

Want to make space for creative expression this summer? Join us. To celebrate the relaunch of this series, I’m offering all Summer classes for FREE (from Aug 14th - 31st).

3 classes a week to choose from (attend one or them all):

  • Mondays from 6:30-7:45pm PST (evenings)

  • Tuesdays from 7:30-8:45am PST (mornings)

  • Wednesdays from 1:30-2:45pm PST (afternoons)

TESTIMONIAL

“You helped me believe more in myself as a writer, creative, and poet. I deeply appreciate the community that was created in this vulnerable and caring space.“

- Gloria

FALL TERM Writing Classes (ONLINE):

  1. Embodied Poetry - 8 Week Mindful Writing Workshop
    Details: Thursdays, Sept 14th - Nov 2nd 2023 from 6-8:30pm PST (Online). 6 participants max.
    REGISTER / LEARN MORE

  2. Finding Authenticity - 6 Week Reflective Writing Workshop
    Details: Wednesdays, Sept 20th - October 25th from 10am-12pm PST (Online). 6 participants max.
    REGISTER / LEARN MORE 

  3. Metaphor and Renewal - 6 Week Reflective Writing Workshop
    Details: Mondays, Oct 16th - Nov 20th (Online) from 1-3pm PST (Online) 6 participants max.
    REGISTER / LEARN MORE


  4. Develop a Writing Ritual
    Join a weekly writing group and make intentional space for creativity.
    Fall Term starts: Sept 11th 2023
    (Register for the Summer term for free).
     REGISTER / LEARN MORE

Healing Through Poetry: 
Documentary Series Screening Night

I’m grateful to be featured in this documentary on poetry and mental health, funded by Storyhive’s Voices 2.0 Program! Directed by Garima Soni.

My episode is on anxiety.

Join us for a special screening of the first 3 episodes on Tuesday, Sept 5th from 5:30-8:30pm at The Cinematheque in Vancouver, BC

I’ll be facilitating the panel discussion that will be follow the screening.

Questions about any of the above content? Email [email protected]

with warmth,
Christine Bissonnette

P.S — Know someone who would enjoy receiving this email? One of the ways you can support me as a teacher is by sharing these workshops with someone you think might enjoy them. Your support is greatly appreciated.