Develop a Writing Ritual (free intro week)

Spring Term starts April 29th

Hello,

I’m teaching 2 free intros for the Spring/Summer Term of my Develop a Writing Ritual course this week (online).

It’s the only writing course I’m teaching this term. I explain why below.

In these intros, you’ll identify the creative dream you've been most wanting to honour with your attention, and give it space to begin. These sessions can be attended/enjoyed all on their own, without committing to the full series.

Join us on:

  • Monday, April 22nd from 6-7:30pm PT and/or

  • Wednesday, April 24th from 1:30-3pm PT

Both sessions are hosted online.

Develop a Writing Ritual - 10-week program

Yearning to write a book of poetry, a novel, a screenplay, or set up a regular journalling practice? These sessions are here to support you to achieve your goals and move through the blocks to your creativity.

Each session includes a Breathexperience practice to help you to approach the blank page with focus and a connection to your body, a guided freewriting practice inspired by ‘The Artist’s Way’, and 40 minutes of space to work on a creative project/explore a creative medium of your choice. We conclude each session with conversation. This is where you can share how you experienced your writing ritual that week, and hear the experiences of others.

There will be a different freewriting focus each week including: what it means to be ‘in process', productivity, our creative resentments, and more.

View the full freewriting schedule here.

Why I’m only teaching 1 workshop this term

I have some personally exciting news! In January, I was accepted into a year and half long program to become a Certified Applied Poetry Facilitator (CAPF) through the International Federation of Bibliopoetry Therapy. This is something I’ve been working towards for over a year, and I am absolutely thrilled.

My habit is to add, add, add onto my schedule, but after several weeks of reflection I’ve decided to take a step back from teaching so I can prioritize my learning and also my own writing time.

When I started teaching writing, I discovered that I had somewhat of a gift for helping folks move through writer’s block. Well, I’ve had my own writer’s block that I needed to move through and, finally after several years, I have. Thanks in large part to what I’ve learned through witnessing my students. So thank you for trusting me to hold space for your creativity. You’ve taught me so much about how to hold space for my own. And now, that’s exactly what I’m going to be doing.

In the meantime, I’ll hope you’ll join me for these intros if they sound enticing to you. It’s always a delight to spend time with you through writing and reflection. And if you’re on my mailing list, but I haven’t met you yet… I hope to see you in class in the future.

Questions, comments, concerns about anything I’ve written about in this email? Send me an email ([email protected]). I’d love to hear from you.

with thanks,
Christine Bissonnette

P.S — Know someone who would enjoy receiving this email? Pass it along!